Simon Mahring
3 min readDec 28, 2021

--

Pixelmator Photo – Fuji X Simulations

After having lots of divine food and chatting to family for hours over the Christmas holidays, I’ve decided it was time for some „me“-time.

I find editing photos really relaxing, so I started editing some of our Christmas photos on my iPad mini.

As I’m shooting with a Fujifilm X-T3, I’ve come to love all the beautiful film simulations such as Classic Chrome and Acros.

For the editing I’m using the App Pixelmator Photo which I can highly recommend, as it can be bought with a one-time payment, and it does not collect any personal data about you.

While trying out the app for the first time a few weeks ago, I’ve noticed that the film simulations are displayed in the explorer, but not in the editor and therefore are not stored in the final image.

To get the simulations onto the iPad, I’ve created a test scene with lots of dynamic range, which allowed me to recreate the simulations manually.

Of course they’re not perfect and some of the simulations are really hard to recreate with an editor that is fairly limited.

After some testing I still think that they are a great starting point.

You can view some impressions of the different simulations below and the download link is at the end of the article.

Original Raw Photo (OOC)
PROVIA / STANDARD
Velvia / VIVID
ASTIA / SOFT
CLASSIC CHROME
Pro Neg. Hi
ACROS (STD)
MONOCHROME (STD)
SEPIA

To use the simulations, just click here to download them to your iPad or iPhone. Afterwards, just tap the downloaded file and Pixelmator Photo should just import it.

Then you can find the simulations at the bottom of the editor labelled FJ“.

I hope you will have lots of fun editing your photos on the go.

Please let me know if this was helpful to you or if there is anything that I could improve.

Cheers,

Simon

--

--

Simon Mahring
0 Followers

Works in IT and is interested in privacy-friendly technology. Did you hear that Google? Go away!